The Tenth Symposium on Polar Science (3 – 5 December 2019)

Poster session on Wed. 4 Dec.Oral session on Thu. 5 Dec.

[OA] Antarctic meteorites


This session is held to present recent research outcomes for Antarctic meteorites and micrometeorites. It will also be an opportunity for general and topical discussion sessions dealing with new data from non-Antarctic meteorites and extraterrestrial materials, and related experimental and theoretical works.

Conveners : Naoya Imae (NIPR)
Note: [I] represents an invited talk.

Oral presentations (10:00 – 12:00, 13:30 – 15:45)

Date : Thu. 5 Dec.
Place : 3F Multipurpose conference room, National Institute of Polar Research

Chair: Takaaki Noguchi (Kyushu University), Mutsumi Komatsu (SOKENDAI)
10:00 - 10:15

Size distribution of Antarctic micrometeorites stored in surface snow near Dome Fuji Station

*Takaaki Noguchi (Kyushu University), Minako Takase (Kyushu University), Takahito Tominaga (Kyushu University), Akira Yamaguchi (NIPR), Naoya Imae (NIPR)
10:15 - 10:30

Y-791498 and A-881828: The least-altered CR chondrites in NIPR Antarctic meteorite collection.

*Mutsumi Komatsu (SOKENDAI), Timothy J. Fagan (Waseda University), Akira Yamaguchi (NIPR), Makoto Kimura (NIPR), Masahiro Yasutake (Ritsumeikan University), Takashi Mikouchi (University of Tokyo), Mike Zolensky (NASA/JSC)
10:30 - 10:45

Organosulfur compounds in carbonaceous chondrites: Implications for organic reaction pathways in the meteorite parent bodies

*Hiroshi Naraoka (Kyushu University)
10:45 - 11:00

The investigation of back-transformation mechanisms of ringwoodite and majorite in the Yamato 75267 H6

Kanta Fukimoto (Hiroshima University), *Masaaki Miyahara (Hiroshima University), Takeshi Sakai (GRC, Ehime University), Hiroaki Ohfuji (GRC, Ehime University), Tomioka Naotaka (JAMSTEC), Yu Kodama (Marine Works Japan), Eiji Ohtani (Tohoku University), Akira Yamaguchi (NIPR)
Chair: Mitsuru Ebihara (Waseda University)
11:00 - 12:00 [I] Terrestrial Ages of Antarctic and Hot Desert Meteorites Using Carbon-14 and Other Cosmogenic Radionuclides *A J Timothy Jull (Department of Geosciences, University of Arizona)
Chair: Toru Yada (ISAS/JAXA), Atsushi Takenouchi (NIPR)
13:30 - 13:45 Elucidation of aqueous alteration of Yamato 000749 based on multi-probe microscopy *Naoki Shiraishi (Hiroshima University)
13:45 - 14:00 Petrological study of Asuka 12325: the least shock-metamorphosed shergottite *Atsushi Takenouchi (NIPR), Akira Yamaguchi (NIPR), Takashi Mikouchi (The University of Tokyo)
14:00 - 14:15 Asuka 12325: A new depleted shergottite *Vinciane Debaille (Laboratoire G-Time, Université Libre de Bruxelles), Geneviève Hublet (Laboratoire G-Time, Université Libre de Bruxelles), Jérôme Roland (Laboratoire G-Time, Université Libre de Bruxelles), Hamed Pourkhorsandi (Laboratoire G-Time, Université Libre de Bruxelles), Steven Goderis (AMGC, Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
14:15 - 14:30 Cathodoluminescence imaging and X-ray diffraction analysis of shocked eucrites *Rei Kanemaru (SOKENDAI), Naoya Imae (NIPR), Akira Yamaguchi (NIPR), Hirotsugu Nishido (Okayama Univ. of Sci.)
14:30 - 14:45 Coffee Break
Chair: Toru Yada (ISAS/JAXA), Atsushi Takenouchi (NIPR)
14:45 - 15:00 Petrogenesis of Yamato-75032 type diogenites *Akira Yamaguchi (National Institute of Polar Research), Jean-Alix Barrat (UBO-IUEM), Naoki Shirai (Tokyo Metropolitan University)
15:00 - 15:15 On the relationship between textures and cooling rates of quenched angrites *Hideyuki Hayashi (Dept. of Earth and Planet. Sci., The University of Tokyo), Takashi Mikouchi (The University Museum, The University of Tokyo)
15:15 - 15:30 Preparation for curation of Hayabusa2-returned samples in JAXA *Toru Yada (ISAS/JAXA), M. Abe (ISAS/JAXA), A. Kakato (ISAS/JAXA), K. Yogata (ISAS/JAXA), M. Nishimura (ISAS/JAXA), T. Okada (ISAS/JAXA), A. Miyazaki (ISAS/JAXA), M. Yoshitake (ISAS/JAXA), S. Furuya (ISAS/JAXA), T. Hayashi (ISAS/JAXA), D. Yamamoto (ISAS/JAXA), K. Kumagai (Marine Works Japan), A. Iwamae (ISAS/JAXA), K. Sakamoto (Univ. of Tokyo), S. Tachibana (Univ. of Tokyo), H. Yurimoto (Hokkaido Univ.)
15:30 - 15:45 In-depth analysis of the single grain from the C-type asteroid Ryugu utilizing linkage microanalytical instruments planed by Phase 2 curation “Team Kochi” *Motoo Ito (JAMSTEC), Naotaka Tomioka (JAMSTEC), Masayuki Uesugi (JASRI/SPring-8), Kentaro Uesugi (JASRI/SPring-8), Takuji Ohigashi (UVSOR), Akira Yamaguchi (NIPR), Naoya Imae (NIPR), Naoki Shirai (Tokyo Met. Univ), Yuzuru Karouji (JAXA/ISAS), Yu Kodama (MWJ), Hayato Yuzawa (UVSOR), Toru Yada (JAXA/ISAS), Masanao Abe (JAXA/ISAS)