National Institute of Polar Research

Home>About>About Our Institute>History

About / About Our Institute


December 1959 Japan signs the Antarctic Treaty
May 1961 The Science Council of Japan announces to the government the establishment of the “Institute of Polar Research” (tentative name)
(April 1962) (“Polar Department” of the National Science Museum established.)
(April 1970) (“Polar Department” reorganized as “Polar Research Center”)
September 29, 1973 Establishment of the National Institute of Polar Research.
April 1993 NIPR becomes a parent institute of the Graduate University for Advanced Studies (SOKENDAI)

July 1998

Antarctic Environmental Protection Law goes into effect
April 2004 NIPR established by the Inter-University Research Institute Corporation as a Research Organization of Information and Systems
May 2009 NIPR relocates to new campus in Tachikawa-shi, Tokyo.
July 2010 NIPR Polar Science Museum established

History of Antarctic Expeditions

January 1912 Shirase Antarctic Expedition reaches the 80th parallel south
November 1956 First Antarctic expedition departs aboard the icebreaker Soya
January 1957 Syowa Station established
February 1962 Syowa Station closed temporarily
November 1965 Research vessel Fuji launched
January 1966 Syowa Station reopened
February 1969 Successful round-trip journey to the South Pole
December 1969 First Antarctic meteorite discovery
February 1970 First observation by rocket
June 1970 Mizuho Station (observation base) established
October 1979 Large number of Antarctic meteorites collected
October 1982 Hole in ozone layer discovered
November 1983 Research vessel Shirase launched
March 1985 Asuka Station (observation base) established
February 1989 Multifunctional antenna installed
February 1995 Dome Fuji Station established
December 1996 Polar ice sheet drilled down to 2,503m
January 1999 Large number of Antarctic meteorites collected
January 2001 Large number of Antarctic meteorites collected
February 2002 Specialized ship added for South Pacific expedition
February 2004 Intelsat satellite connection made
January 2005 Aircraft observation base established in Antarctica
January 2007 Polar ice sheet drilled down to 3,035m
November 2009 New Shirase launched
March 2011 PANSY large-scale atmospheric radar makes first data recording

History of Arctic Expeditions

June 1990 Arctic Environment Research Center established
April 1991 Ny-Ålesund Research Station established
1992 Joins International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)
April 1996 Joins European Incoherent Scatter Scientific Association (EISCAT)
March 1998 Japanese-German airborne Arctic expedition
April 2004 Arctic Environment Research Center reorganized
April 2008 North Greenland Eemian Ice Drilling (NEEM) begins
July 2011 Green Network of Excellence (GRENE) project (Arctic climate change field)
April 2015 Arctic Environment Research Center reorganized to enhance international colaborations
"Arctic Science Summit Week" was held in Toyama
Page Top